

'Let your líght shíne'

29th April 2025

Eyam CE (C) Primary School, Church Street, Eyam, Hope Valley, S32 5QH 01433 630840 Headteacher: Mrs Oona Gilbertson info@eyam.derbyshire.sch.uk www.eyamprimary.co.uk

Derbyshire County Council

# Eyam CE Primary School

# Consultation on a Proposal by the Governing Body for the Extension of the Age Range of the School from 4-11 years to 3-11 years

#### Introduction

Notice is given in accordance with section 19(1) of the Education and Inspections Act 2006 that the Governing Body of Eyam CE Primary School proposes to make a prescribed alteration, namely altering the lower age limit of school from 4 years to 3 years so as to add nursery provision with effect from September 2025.

### <u>Context</u>

Eyam CE Primary School is an established, successful Church of England primary school with an age range of 4-11 years which serves the local community of which it is proud to be part of. Current provision within school enables children to attend an Early Years Foundation Stage 2 (Reception Class) setting followed by Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2. The school does not currently provide any pre-school provision.

#### **Proposal**

The school is proposing to alter the lower age limit of the school from 4 years to 3 years by extending the provision to include both Foundation Stage 1 and Foundation Stage 2 children (from the age of 3 instead of 4). The school already has adequate premises to make this alteration without significant changes being required and with minimal disruption to existing provision.

This means that, if the proposal is implemented, the school will be able to offer families a seamless and comprehensive education programme for children from the age of 3 years.

The school anticipates that, working with the existing premises and newly appointed Early years educators, the school will be able to offer the full government entitlement of 30 hours of free early years education and the option of allowing additional fee paid hours in the future to suit individual family circumstances and preferences.

If the proposal is implemented, it is anticipated that in the long term the school will be able to accommodate 16 pre-school aged children in total, the number will fluctuate yearly in line with parental requests.

#### <u>Staff</u>

If the proposal is implemented, the school will appoint a new Pre-school Lead as well as a qualified Early Years practitioner to work alongside the existing highly qualified staff, which includes a very experienced Foundation Stage and Infant Teacher and a Teaching and Learning Assistant. The school will ensure that the correct ratios of 1:8 are always implemented. The school expects there to be up to 16 Foundation Stage 1 Pupils in the school at the start of the 2025-26 academic year.













# **Funding**

We have consulted with School Support Finance who have modelled the anticipated funding and built it into our budget monitoring with us. They recognise that this is a sustainable financial model for us.

## **Consultation**

The consultation on this proposal will be for four weeks from Tuesday 29<sup>th</sup> April up to Tuesday 27<sup>rd</sup> May 2025.

Governors and Mrs Gilbertson will host a meeting in the proposed space with interested parties to explain the proposal and respond to questions. This will take place at 3.45 pm on Thursday 15<sup>th</sup> May 2025 at Eyam CE Primary School. Please contact the office <u>info@eyam.derbyshire.sch.uk</u> if you would like to attend.

This consultation document available as a hard copy on request from the Office via info@eyam.derbyshire.sch.uk

Any comments, observations or objections should be sent to the Head teacher, Oona Gilbertson, entitled 'Pre-school' again via the Office info@eyam.derbyshire.sch.uk. or alternatively addressed to the Headteacher, Eyam CE Primary School, Church Street, Eyam, S32 5QH.

The deadline for receiving responses to this consultation is 27<sup>th</sup> May at 3.00pm to allow time for Governor/DCC discussion and feedback.

Kind regards

Oona Gilbertson (Headteacher) Clare Harley (Chair of Governors)









